Change or Delete iCloud Account without Data Loss

Turn Off Notifications Only You can also disable automatic mail checking or notifications for the account. Then you can receive and send messages from the account, but it remains hidden from sight and out of the way. Tap Fetch New Data. Select Manually. Disable Notifications for New Messages To disable only notifications for new messages you receive at an iPhone email account, while the messages are still downloaded automatically and ready how do you delete an email account on an iphone without losing contacts you open Mail: From the Settings app, open Notifications.

Instructions in this article apply to iOS Directions are similar for recent versions of the Apple mobile operating system. So to add or remove an account, you'll work through the Settings app, not the Mail app.

 

When you delete a POP3 account from an iOS device, you will lose any mail that’s was stored in the local Sent and Trash folders on the device, as well as mail in the Inbox that has been deleted from the server. Be sure to read the small description of what will be deleted that appears on the screen when you choose “Delete Account”. It’s not easy to delete an email account on your iPhone without losing your contact information. This is mostly a concern for many iPhone users, and the reason is simple. Every contact saved on an iPhone is automatically saved on an Exchange account. It means that if an email account is deleted, the contacts saved in such account will go with it. To turn off automatic mail check for an account on an iPhone: From the Settings app, go to Passwords & Accounts. Some older versions of iOS don't have that menu item. Instead, go to Mail > Accounts. Open Fetch New Data. Tap the desired email account. Make sure Manual is selected.

How to Remove an Email Account from an iPhone: 5 Steps

The same applies to thread notifications. If iOS Mail is set to alert you to replies you receive in a conversation, the settings for thread notifications apply instead of those for the account where you receive the email. Continue Reading.

An independent writer who has reviewed hundreds of email programs and services since Updated August 12, Removing email accounts from the iPhone Mail app is a straightforward procedure, although you should consider alternatives to cut down on email noise before you decide to remove an account.

Aug 26,  · If you just want to remove the email account from your iPhone's Mail app, you can tap the green "Mail" switch in the middle of the account page to disable it. Warnings Any contacts, notes, emails, and calendar appointments that are synchronized from the email account will immediately be removed from the iPhone. It’s not easy to delete an email account on your iPhone without losing your contact information. This is mostly a concern for many iPhone users, and the reason is simple. Every contact saved on an iPhone is automatically saved on an Exchange account. It means that if an email account is deleted, the contacts saved in such account will go with it. Sep 17,  · Learn how to set up and manage your contacts to change what shows up in the Contacts app, delete contacts, and more. And if you delete a contact from your email account, you also permanently delete the contact from all devices signed into that email account. Manage and delete contacts on your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch. UK.

Tap Mail. Select the account for which you want to disable new mail notifications. Turn off the Allow Notifications toggle switch. Some older versions of iOS have different settings. If you don't see the above, go to Alert style when unlocked and select None. Clear the checkmark next to the mail account. Tap Done to save the changes. You will receive notifications for emails from VIP senders.


 

Deleting Calendars and Other Features of Your Account Deleting an email account from an iPhone also removes calendars, notes, to-do items, and contacts that use this account. Alternatives to Deleting an Account from Your iPhone You don't need to delete an email account from the iPhone entirely to remove or hide emails. Choose an email account. On older versions of iOS, tap Done. If you don't see the Done button, how do you delete an email account on an iphone without losing contacts, the changes are saved, and you can exit the settings.

Select the email account you want to remove. Considerations for Email Account Removal Before you remove an email account, evaluate the implications. You can still receive and send emails on the web or in other email programs set up to use the email account. With POP, the iPhone may be the only place where emails are stored. This is the case if iOS Mail is set up to delete emails from the server after downloading them and the messages have not been saved anywhere else.

 

 

how do you delete an email account on an iphone without losing contacts

 


how do you delete an email account on an iphone without losing contacts

Safely Deleting Old Mail Accounts | Tiger Technologies Support